Burg Altena, Germany

Great Masters Series - "The Four Seasons"

This year’s series celebrates renowned composer, Antonio Vivaldi. Born March 4, 1678 in Venice, Italy, the son of a violinist, he was trained as a priest. Vivaldi was ordained in 1703, but left the priesthood soon after due to health complications. His reputation began with trios sonatas, violin sonatas and L’estro armonico, his first publications. Vivaldi also had a great interest in vocal music, including sacred works written for his pupils and operas. Known as the Venetian composer, Antonio Vivaldi died in Vienna in July of 1741.

The Fine Arts Strings conducted by Mischa Semanitzky, will perform Vivaldi’s popular violin concerti the "The Four Seasons" in a dramatic presentation with Katie McLin, featured violin soloist. Fine Arts Strings was founded in 1977 to give Arizona string players an opportunity to explore the wealth of literature for string ensembles of various sizes. Since 1981 the organization has been in residence at Scottsdale Community College.

These events are open to the public and free of charge.

copyright © museum.com gmbh. all rights reserved.
copyright policy