(c) by Städtische Museen Bad Wildungen
Description [EN]
“In the past, when the hammer still thundered here, the miner´s greeting ‘Glück auf’ was heard. When it was no longer profitable, mining was abandoned here.”
The Museum of Historical Mining in Bergfreiheit is located in a half-timbered house built in 1676, which once served as an administrative building for local mining. As early as the mid-16th century, the small settlement was granted the noble privilege of "Bergk Freyheit," thus declaring it the center of copper and ore smelting in the Kellerwald. Reconstructed forge rooms and electric models of early hammers and workshops illustrate the life of the miners up to the mid-19th century. A selected collection of minerals and ores further demonstrates the captivating diversity of colors and shapes of regional rock types, both then and now.