Yale Historic Site

31187 Douglas Street
CA - V0X 1L1 Yale
visit the website


Panorama of: Yale Historic Site (c) by Yale Historic Site. All rights reserved.

Yale, B.C. was once the largest city north of San Francisco and west of Chicago. Originally established in 1848 as a Hudson’s Bay Company trading post, Yale grew with the influx of an estimated 30,000 gold miners during the gold rush of 1858. In the 1860’s, with the construction of the Cariboo Wagon Road, Yale became the main terminal for one of the largest sternwheeler routes in North America.The 1880’s saw the building of the Canadian Pacific Railway, with construction headquarters housed in Yale. Yale Historic Site is one of several British Columbia Heritage properties. The site is comprised of several heritage buildings including the ‘Creighton House’ built in the 1870's and home to our museum, gift shop, archives and Beth Clare garden. It’s a fitting showcase for the many historical artifacts on display. Indoor exhibits include artifacts and photographs showcasing the diverse history of Yale. A beautiful collection of First Nations baskets, Gold Rush, Chinese and Pioneer artifacts, Canadian Pacific Railway exhibits and pieces donated by the former students of All Hallows girls school are just some of the items in our collection. A donation by Rose Charlie and her family of an 1853 ‘Peace’ piano is a wonderful addition to our museum. Our outdoor exhibits include our Living History ‘Tent City’, showing life during the gold rush of 1858, where visitors to our site can ‘step back in time’ and experience the early days of the 1858 Fraser River Gold Rush or try their hand at panning for gold. Also on site is St. John the Divine church built in 1863. A National Historic Site monument to Chinese railroad workers is the first monument in Canada to be inscribed in English, French and Chinese. Opening for tours this summer is the newly conserved Ward House. Originally built in 1863 by William ‘Johnny’ H. Ward, the home burnt down in one of several fires to sweep through town. It was rebuilt on it’s original foundation and now dates to 1880. The Ward Tea House will also be open beginning in May 2015.